Research Databases

Search records, books, serials, and other historical records specific to African Americans to trace your genealogy or to do research.

Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible.

[IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY] Trace your genealogy using historical records. U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Access biographical information on more than 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and magazine articles.

Fix your car, truck, van, or SUV with these diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures.

Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information

Concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries of the world. Beyond the facts and figures, find an insider's perspective on the history, daily life, and customs. Also covers US states and Canadian provinces.

Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting place for your local history and genealogy reference.

Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

Specifically designed with the needs of middle school students in mind. Includes full-text articles from popular, vocational, and trade magazines, full-text newspaper articles, along with images, videos, and primary sources.

A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.

Grades 9-12: A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America’s military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.

Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.

Find "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Home Improvement Source features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.

Self-directed assessment and learning tool that covers a variety of technology scenarios. Find short lessons and practice exercises to improve skills on common computer topics such as email basics, Microsoft Word, and social media.

Reference content in humanities, social sciences, and science

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this resource provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities, and the impact of new development

Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

An excellent way to get a quick authoritative and accessible overview of a subject.

Whether wandering through the woods or the neighborhood, users can use What Tree Is It? to identify their surrounding trees by leaf or fruit. Learn more by exploring trees by name.

For both budding naturalists and inadvertent encounters, What's That Snake? will help anyone identify an Ohio snake in a few simple steps. Learn more by exploring Snakes by Name, a Snake FAQ, the Glossary, or Further Reading suggestions.

By answering just a few questions, flint artifacts of Ohio can be identified as a blade, drill, point, or scraper and attributed to a likely era and people. Learn more by exploring the Glossary, Artifacts Index, or articles about Ohio's Prehistoric People.

Upper-level Spanish language database intended for high school students through adult learners. – La base de datos de nivel superior en español destinada a estudiantes de secundaria hasta adultos.

The optimal beginner’s Spanish-language reference tool offering all the best elements of World Book Kids; designed to build key language and research skills. – La herramienta de referencia en español óptima para principiantes que ofrece todos los mejores elementos de World Book Kids; diseñado para desarrollar habilidades clave de lenguaje e investigación.

Bienvenue à L'Encyclopédie Découverte, World Book's French language encyclopedia. It features two interfaces: one aimed at grades K through 4 and for older students and adults. – Bienvenue à L'Encyclopédie Découverte, encyclopédie de la langue française du World Book. Il comporte deux interfaces: une destinée à la maternelle à la quatrième année et une pour les élèves plus âgés et les adultes.

Ages 14 and up. A wealth of vetted articles supplemented by thousands of original source documents fosters advanced research and critical thinking skills and prepares students for continued growth!

Ages 3-7. Developed with experts in early childhood education, this re-designed database offers rich resources to help young learners build their vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency.

Ages 6-10. This go-to resource is chock-full of fun activities, hands-on science projects, and age-appropriate articles, and offers image-based navigation to help young learners find information quickly and develop necessary digital literacy skills.

Ages 10-14. Tailored specifically for students, articles include multimedia and related resources to engage students, biographies, and supplemental tools to support cross-curricular studies.

Explore more than 650 pre-made timelines with over 14,000 individual events, or create your own timelines!